Slightly in a State of Hesitation

The Rose Window in Notre Dame Cathedral Paris, France
The Rose Window in Notre Dame Cathedral
Paris, France

Perhaps art is a place where reality and fantasy come together?

 

Hello! Out of all the greetings in the world the simple “hello,” “hola,” or “Anata ni aete suteki,” (lovely to meet you) is by far one of the most useless openers to many of our conversations. As a shy, awkward, and sometimes socially unacceptable character, I must admit to having some difficulty trying to get past the initial greeting. “Hi” grabs someone’s attention, but how do you hold onto it, is there a better way? Pass the ball. Or something like that as the self-help books advise. I do, I really do try to pass that ball but it’s either moving too fast or I hold onto it too hard and it deflates depressingly in my hands the moment I catch it. So I propose another route. Instead of saying hello or good morning in these daily posts, I’ll ask a question. Life is short; in order to make some changes within the current developing modern mindset sometimes formalities, especially where formalities are unecessary, can be foregone. To this I say my first and final greeting hesitantly but, with ultimate confidence. Hello everyone.

Question: Does anyone know why art can be so meaningful?

 

P.s. I’m an art nerd 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Slightly in a State of Hesitation

  1. Art can be a powerful communication device. Its message which will mean something completely different depending on the perception of each viewer, can affect us all in countless different ways emotionally and intellectually, and often in a manner quite apart from it’s creators original intent.

    1. Yes! That’s sort of kind of exactly what I’ve been thinking. wow. The same goes for any type of work that someone puts out there. In the Louvre there are so many beautiful masterpieces, but it’s odd how for example, that Raphael or one statue by Gregor Erhart stylistically can have an all inclusive effect on the world while others do not. La Guernica in the Reina Sofia is violent and expressive and not mention one of the most important pieces of modern art. I’ve seen other murals and frescos but this one gave me goosebumps. Maybe it’s just the suggestion that a piece is important, but aside from learning to think for oneself, isn’t the suggestion of importance also significant? not sure…but what I am sure of is that no one should take me to an art museum unless they’re comfortable walking next to an over-excited art freak 🙂

      1. Yes, well said! Expressionism in all its forms is art of one sort or another. Picasso’s La Guernica, is a great example. It is a rather imposing piece isn’t it? I can well understand your reaction. The fact that it is in abstract form, does nothing to minimize its subject matter. It literally shocks the senses.

        “The Temptation of St. Anthony” by Matthias (Gothard) Grunewald, a German Renaissance artist, is a painting that has always stricken me with feelings of dread and foreboding. Anthony the Great, is depicted, with a look of agonized despair on his face, in a deep dark cavern’ while all manner of vile, ominous looking demons and creatures set upon him.

        I get a little carried away in art galleries and museums too. 🙂

      2. Haha yes, I think Guernica is one of the most impressive paintings I’ve ever seen. It lives up to its reputation in certainty. The dash across Madrid to see it for free was definitely worth it…although no seating, I was dying 🙂 The process that Picasso went through to get to the final piece is really interesting. I found it kind of enouraging in a way: that an artist as awesome as he became great and found greatness in the evolution.

        That piece is so interesting and provoking! (The Temptation of St. Anthony) I’d never heard of it before but, when I looked it up there were so many variations by artists, like Dali, that I guess I’ve seen it before…art semantics? no? ok. This one by Grunewald is so amazing for lack of better words. A lot of the paintings done then were pretty formal or inspired caution. Although this has religious context, it’s like the artist was conveying a sense of urgency. There’s imagination, real and organic shapes, and to be honest I feel like that sometimes too where everything is pulling on me on all sides, violent and erupting nightmares, moments where my censor glitches and I scare away formal aquaintances :p Thanks for showing it to me!

        I really have to go back to France now. Not that I enjoy the French all that much but their art (and food) makes it totally worth it.

        I’m glad to hear that you love art too. Maybe spending 5 hours in a museum isn’t too bad?

Leave a Reply

