What’s your favorite painting by Van Gogh?

Mouling de blute-fin
Moulin de blute-fin

This is one of my favorite paintings ever done by Van Gogh.  Pictured is a windmill in Montmartre, France where he spent a good deal of time not only because he loved the scenery and the people, but also because it was cheap living.  🙂  I saw the painting in an art museum once and for some reason it stuck with me throughout the rest of the exhibition.  Maybe it’s the colors of green, yellow, and blue that attract me to this piece.

However, I think it’s due to just a teeny tiny bit more.  The way it draws you into the scene: the foreground is all green grass and as we move to the background, the scene becomes busier, but smaller and smaller in detail.  It’s like Van Gogh is making us chase the life that he could see on that simple little hill, and the chase, knowing that I’ll never get close enough, is all I need to keep going forward into the painting.

Then, suddenly, the painting is no longer there.

I’m running toward the windmill.  The sun beats like a drum against my skin.  The green grass is soft beneath my bare feet, and the wind carries me closer and closer to the life that I perceive is hidden there.  Just a little bit closer; I’m almost there!  But in my heart I know I never will be close enough, and the loss compared to the small victory of living the scene’s story is enough to keep me there, standing in front of that painting; lost and yet found, over and over again.

So! What’s your favorite painting by Van Gogh?  If it’s not even Van Gogh that’s okay too. 🙂

Until next time! (I’m working on a draft that is requires some further research and composition: Van Gogh and Millet!)

3 thoughts on “What’s your favorite painting by Van Gogh?

  1. Hmm… good question! I don’t know if it has something to do with the beautiful song “Vincent” by Eric Carmen, or just the thought that a tormented Soul such as Van Gogh could fill me with such a playfully whimsical vibe, but I’ve always had an affinity for “Starry Night”

Leave a Reply

