College and Change

“Change will not come if we wait for some other person or some other time.
We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.”

~ Barack Obama

Six days ago I was sitting at home swiveling my desk chair from side to side.

I looked out my window to observe the view I had been used to seeing for 17 years: seven white-washed garage doors all closed against the sun’s glare reflecting up into my room making it severely hot and stuffy, the gray colored roofs blocking the tall cotton trees standing still as statues not even a breeze to make the thick green leaves glimmer, and half a blue sky rising above it all, cloudless and without a hint of giving me a clue about what I should be doing.

Today, today would be another long and arduous day of moving my body from one position to the next and from one pointless activity to the next, doing absolutely nothing.

They send you off with streamers and shouting and clapping.  Telling you how accomplished you are, the teachers, friends, and well-wishers congratulate you, a high school graduate.

Congratulations! But what do you do after the fact? Take a trip to Europe? Hang out with friends, read, swim, pack, read some more? That’s already been accomplished, I had already done everything I wanted to do before leaving.

It was six days until I left for college and there was nothing to do but wait.  Change, they say (whoever “they” are) can be exciting, limitless, freeing, it can be an adventure! But while I’ve found all these aspects of change to be true, it has mostly consisted of waiting.

Was I waiting for the end result of change, or waiting for the change to begin? It’s rather difficult to distinguish between the two.

It was six days until I left for college and I was waiting for the change to begin.

It is now 12 hours until I move onto campus and as I lay here in a cheap bed, at a cheap motel with garish floral bedspreads and peeling wallpaper, this is the moment and the feeling I expected.

Not 10 minutes away from the change I’ve been waiting for all summer, I can’t help but think that nothing could have prepared me for whatever will happen next.

So, whatever does come my way this new school year, I’ll put my faith in God, and I’ll remember that although I’m so far away from home and the people I love, change will come again soon enough, and I’ll be heading off on a new adventure.

Alright!  This ^^ is prelude to a new and exciting time at college.  Posting may take a hit but I’ll try to write as often as I can.  Until next time! 

Leave a Reply

